US Consulate

The mission of the United States Embassy is to advance the interests of the United States, and to serve and protect U.S. citizens in South Africa.

This mission includes approximately 310 U.S. and 560 locally engaged staff employed by 28 U.S. Government departments and agencies. In addition to the Embassy in Pretoria, there are Consulates in Johannesburg, Cape Town and Durban.

Many U.S. Government departments, such as the Foreign Commercial Service, the Department of Homeland Security, Department of Health and Human Services, Overseas Foreign Disaster Assistance and Food for Peace have based their regional operations in South Africa, reflecting the facilities and services available in South Africa.

The United States’ strong trade and business partnerships with South Africa are hallmarks for the continent. The United States is the third largest trading partner for South Africa, after Germany and China.

The United States is the largest portfolio investor and the largest source of foreign direct investment in South Africa.

The US Embassy regularly sponsors workshops on entrepreneurialism, small and medium business management and financial planning for businesses.


Visit their website here.