Advice needed for building a big user based website.

Basically I'm building a big website which will have many users. I am using Dreamweaver CS5 on mac.

It will have a similiar kind of set up as the silicon cape website.

So should I use any advice will be appreciated since I am relatively new to web development.

Views: 732

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Dreamweaver primarily solves the visual design (and HTML output, to a large degree) part of a web site, not the application programming and integration between the visual design and the application itself.

Drupal is a pre-built content management system that likely offers much of the functionality that is offered on this web site, and using it would mean not having to do the majority of the programming work involved in providing it.  You could then take the visual design and import it into Drupal as a theme, and you could get pretty far along your path.  This will probably allow you to achieve a lot very quickly, but you will hit a learning curve once you want to do more complex things.  The same goes with other pre-existing content management options available to you.

Alternatively, you will need to choose a programming language in which the application part of your web site will be written in.  This choice will follow from your existing knowledge of programming and programming languages, the resources available to you (your friends and others who are willing to help you learn the languages they know), and other factors mostly specific to you.  I can recommend Python (using Django, especially) or PHP (using one of many pretty decent frameworks) if you don't know where to start.  It will take you longer to get started using this route, but you will learn a lot, and you can make things exactly as you want to make them.

Good luck,

Neil

Hi Francois,